Car safety and children

Since having Arabella car safety is something I have been thinking about a lot. I had horrible paranoid thoughts whilst pregnant about having an acident in the car and something happening to Bella, I’m pretty sure this is a normal mum thing.

Whilst pregnant I researched car seats, for both newborn and when she gets older. We decided we would like to rear face for longer than “standard” as reseach shows it is much safer and have pretty much decided that we are going to go for the BeSafe iZi Plus. It rear faces up to 25kg when fitted with a seatbelt!

Rear has been shown to be 5 times safer for children.

It seems car safety is also something that my husband thinks about a lot too, he’s constantly checking our screenwash, other fluid levels and the tread on our tyres.

Tyres are such an important part of car safety, if you think about it those 4 little squares of contact you have the road are purely your tyres. If you have no tread you have no grip. The legal limit on tyres in the UK is 1.6mm but anything under 3mm can compromise safety.

I found this page at Point S Tyres really helpful and informative and it shows you how to check your tyre tread properly. Moreover, for convenience and catering to busy parents, Point S allows booking tyres and fitting appointments online without any initial payment so one doesn’t need to wait for their turn at the service centre.

I think the thing that worries me most on the road isn’t our car, or mine or my husbands driving, its other irreponsible drivers. People who don’t maintain their cars properly, who drive round with bald tyres or badly worn brakes. then there are the people who drink drive, and use their phones whilst they are driving.

Now I am going to move onto car safety from a pedestrian point of view, we have one car now so we car share. This means during the week I walk a lot, wether it be with bella in the sling or in her pram. we live on a quiet housing estate, our road is a dead end but the amount of people I see speeding up and down like it is a race track is disgusing, there is no need for it, its going to save them what? a few seconds at the most. I think forward about how I used to play outside in the street when I was a child, playing with a football or drawing on the pavement with chalk, I dont think I’ll be able to do that because I really worry about someone losing control of their car due to speed and mounting the pavement!

Anyway, enough rambling from me, I’m going to finish with a few pictures of Bella in her car seat, we travel a lot as we have family all over the country, shes a very well travelled baby and really seems to enjoy it too!

IMG_8207

Leave a Reply

