Birth plan, planning a birth?!

So today I am going to write about birth plans.

All I ever hear from people who already have children is “don’t have a birth plan”, “birth plans are pointless”, “I won’t do a birth plan again”.

I’ve gone against this advice and made one, well sort of. I have made a list of wishes. It includes things like what my wishes are in certain circumstances. I certainly understand that birth isn’t something you can plan but I want to have something for us (more importantly my husband) to refer to if we need to.

The things it contains are who I want as my companion if I need a caesarean section, if we want our baby to have vitamin K after birth, if we want delayed clamping of the umbilical cord, if we wish to breastfeed and if we want skin to skin contact immediately.

It also contains my current feelings about pain relief, in a perfect world I would like to only use maybe gas and air if I feel the need, I would prefer to avoid pethedine (I have had it before for gynae pain and my ectopic and didn’t find it helpful or like the side effects). I would also prefer to avoid an epidural and have an active labour if possible. I’m sat here now imagining women who are already mothers reading this and shaking their heads at me but please note I have written what I prefer, rather than what I will and will not do/need/use.

If I do end up feeling the need to have an epidural or a C-section, I will not see myself as a failure or that I have gone off my plan, after all you cannot plan a birth, so I have decided to call mine a list of thoughts/wishes rather than a plan.

The most important thing to me in all of this is getting here baby safely.

I used the NHS choices website birth plan to help me write mine, it gives you an idea of the things you may want to think about.

This can be found here: http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/birth-plan.aspx#close

Did you have a birth plan? Did you find it useful?

Here is my list of thoughts/wishes:

Where to give birth

I would like to give birth in a midwifery unit

My comments on where I would like to give birth and why:

I would like to use the birthing pool as I feel this will help me relax

Companions

I would like my partner or companion(s) to be with me during labour

My birth partner or companion is:

Jamie, my husband.

Birthing equipment

My comments on birthing equipment and whether I will provide it:

I would like to use the birthing pool, I will be bringing my own birthing ball.

Companions during a forceps or vacuum delivery

I would like my partner or companion(s) to be with me if I have a forceps or vacuum delivery

Companions during a caesarean section

I would like my partner or companion to be with me if I have a caesarean section

Birthing equipment

I plan to use equipment such as mats or beanbags during labour

My comments on birthing equipment and whether I will provide it:

I would like to use the birthing pool, I will be bringing my own birthing ball.

Special facilities

I would like to use a birthing pool, if available

Monitoring during labour

I have not discussed with my midwife how I would like my baby’s heart to be monitored if everything is straightforward

Keeping active during labour

I would like to move around during labour

My comments on moving around during labour:

I would like an active labour. If I cannot have an active labour I do not want to be led on my side

Positions for labour and birth

I would like to move around during labour

I would like to be standing

I would like to be kneeling

I would like to be kneeling on all fours

I would like to be squatting

I would like to be lying on my side

Skin-to-skin contact with your baby

I would like my baby delivered straight onto my tummy

My comments on anything special I would like to happen immediately after the birth:

I would also like delayed cord clamping and then my husband to have skin to skin whilst my placenta is delivered.

Midwives, nurses and doctors in training

I have discussed with my midwife my thoughts about having midwives, nurses or doctors in training with me during labour

Any other comments or preferences about my labour and birth:

Midwives, doctors or nurses in training can be present but I do not want them handling my care.

Pain relief options

I would like to try breathing and relaxation

I would like to try being in water during labour and/or birth

I would like to try massage

I would like to try TENS (transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation)

I would like to try gas and air (entonox)

My preferences for pain relief:

I would prefer to try and avoid pain relieving injections and epidural

My feelings about the possible need for an episiotomy:

I have discussed with my midwife or doctor why an episiotomy might be necessary

I would like my midwife to tell me if she thinks I am going to need one as I don’t want to tear.

Delivering the placenta after the birth

I have discussed with my midwife what happens after labour when the placenta is delivered

My preferences about delivering the placenta:

I would like delayed claming of the cord, once the cord has been clamped and cut I want the injection. I want my husband to cut the cord.

Feeding your baby

I would like to breastfeed my baby

My comments about feeding my baby:

I plan to breastfeed so I want my baby close to me at all times or brought to me so that I can feed on demand

Vitamin K for your baby

I have given my midwife my consent to give my baby vitamin K

 

2 comments

  1. Fiona Naughton · April 10, 2014

    Like you I made a birth plan and it was completely ignored. I didn’t want to be cut and I didn’t want any instruments like vacuum or forceps but unfortunately they had to vacuum for baby’s sake 😦 I hope you get everything you want in your plan and I hope your baby has a smooth and safe birth 🙂

    Fiona @ http://www.dollydowsie.com

    Like

  2. rh1annonb · April 17, 2014

    My birth plan was vague as I knew that with twins, the likelihood of intervention was high. I was clear that I didn’t want pethadine though. I hope all goes well with your labour and birth x

    Like

Leave a Reply

